Interesting facts about cricket winners around the World

Facts And Winners Of Cricket World Cup

Posted by

The ICC Cricket World Cup in One Day International (ODI) cricket tournament in the men’s international tournament. The tournament, organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the highest-ranking international ODI tournament in terms of precedence and importance and is played under ODI rules.

The tournament has been held every four years since it began in 1975, with twelve teams participating. This post will be about the winner’s list of ICC cricket world cup with all information including who won it with their name and year.  

World Cup Winners

The tournament has been held every four years since it began in 1975, with twelve teams participating. West Indies won the first tournament, with Australia winning three consecutive tournaments in 1999, 2003, and 2007. India was championed in 2011 when they defeated Sri Lanka at the finals. To know who the other countries that won the world cup are, the cricket world cup winners list is given below.

  • 1975 – West Indies
  • 1979 – West Indies
  • 1983 – India
  • 1987 – Australia
  • 1992 – Pakistan
  • 1996 – Sri Lanka
  • 1999 – Australia
  • 2003 – Australia
  • 2007 – Australia
  • 2011 – India
  • 2015 – Australia
  • 2019 – England

Australia is considered one of the greatest teams of the world cup, dominating the league by winning it five times. Australia had also been runners-up to the West Indies at the 1975 World Cup held in England, losing by 17 runs, and they also reached the finals of the 1996 world cup. The ICC recognized the need for a trophy to recognize that a World Cup was played between national teams.

This is how the world cup, the most competitive and popular tournament, started. The teams worldwide fight every year to book their sport in the world cup as only the top teams of the world play the world cup. Thus all the team has to play world cup qualifiers to reach the world cup.

Why Cricket World Cup Is Famous All Over The World?

Why Cricket World Cup is so popular?

Cricket is one of the most popular sports globally, and it’s still growing at a fast rate. So what makes the ICC Cricket World Cup so famous? Well, for starters, it’s the biggest team sporting event on Earth. Last year saw a huge spike in viewership, an estimated 3.2 billion.

The Cricket World Cup 2019 has created similar interest, with an estimated 2.6 billion people watching television and another 1 billion online. Thus you can get an idea of how popular this tournament is. It is hard to avoid cricket in modern life, especially in Australia and England, where television is always tuned into live cricket.

Especially in English language-speaking nations, a large proportion of the population follows international cricket closely, which means that the Cricket World Cup has become an integral part of cricket playing nations. There are several reasons why cricket is very famous in the world.

The most common is that it’s enriched with English history. As you know, the English have been the most influential people of their time when they had control over most countries of the world. So they founded the game cricket, and the people began liking it to play and watch whenever they would get the chance.

Cricket is also a very exciting and interesting game, and with top teams of the world involved in the world cup, people love to see the best and most thrilling cricket matches. The world cup is a prestigious tournament, and a very high level of cricket is played here. Thus fans gather from all around the world and cheer for their country with the hope of winning the world cup. 

Facts About Cricket World Cup

ICC cricket world cup is the most awaited event for which all cricket lovers eagerly wait. It has always been the ultimate test for any cricket-playing nation. It is also considered the most challenging event in world cricket.

  • The first ICC cricket world cup was staged in England in 1975, and West Indies won it.
  • The only country to win more than three times in Australia, which has had five victories.
  • The inaugural ICC Cricket World Cup was won by West Indies, despite losing to Australia earlier in the tournament.

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket. The event is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and takes place every four years. The tournament is one of the world’s most viewed sporting events. It is considered the sport’s international calendar event, with viewership exceeding that of all other international cricket tournaments.