• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

IPL 2014 Qualifier 1 – KKR vs KXIP: KKR Storm Into IPL Final

By on May 29, 2014

Kolkata Knight Riders 163 for 8 (Uthappa 42, Karanveer 3-40) beat Kings XI Punjab 135 for 8 (Saha 35, Umesh 3-13) by 28 runs…

Umesh Yadav’s three wickets played a big role in KKR’s 28-run win over KXIP.

Kolkata Knight Riders stormed into the final of IPL 7 after registering a 28-run win over table-toppers Kings XI Punjab in the first qualifier at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

IPL 2014 Qualifier 1 - KKR vs KXIP: Umesh YadavChasing 164, KXIP lost early momentum in a bid to match the Duckworth/Lewis par score and were restricted to 135 for 8 in 20 overs.

KXIP, who last made it to the knockout stage in 2008 when they reached the semi-finals, can still reach the final if they beat the winners of the Eliminator between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians.

KXIP skipper George Bailey’s decision to bat second considering the rain threat was clearly a logical decision but KKR’s all-round show ensured that the hosts had the last laugh.

Fast bowler Umesh Yadav was KKR’s destroyer-in-chief as he claimed the vital wickets of Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell and Bailey, giving away just 13 runs in his four overs.

Rain too played a significant part as the teams changed tactics keeping in mind the D/L equation. KKR read the script better as KXIP lost Manan Vohra and Maxwell who were trying to catch up with the par score.

KKR timed their strategic timeout to perfection; they took it right after Maxwell’s dismissal with KXIP at 55 for 3 in 7.5 overs, the par score being 66 at that stage.

David Miller and Wriddhiman Saha added 25 before Morne Morkel dismissed the latter for a 31-ball 35 to tilt the game in favour of KKR. Legspinner Piyush Chawla then bowled Miller, leaving KXIP at 82 for 5. The pressure of the occasion soon claimed another victim as Akshar Patel was run out courtesy a direct through from Chawla. The rest of the chase petered out as KKR advanced to Sunday’s final.

Earlier, after being put in to bat, KKR had overcome the loss of Gambhir for 1 thanks to the in-form Orange Cap holder Uthappa’s 30-ball 42. Uthappa played some attacking shots before he was outfoxed by left-arm spinner Akshar Patel, who then had Manish Pandey bowled in the same over to swing the momentum back KXIP’s way.

Yusuf Pathan and Shakib-al-Hasan put on 41 in 5.3 overs before legspinner Karanveer Singh was rewarded for his loop with the wickets of the all-round pair in successive deliveries, putting KXIP in the driver’s seat. Rain intervened in the 16th over with KKR at 113 for 5, and on resumption KXIP’s bowlers came in for some stick. Karanveer was carted around 17 runs in the 18th over by Ryan ten Doeschate and Suryakumar Yadav. This late surge proved massive for KKR in the final outcome.

Source: gocricket

You must be logged in to post a comment Login