• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

IPL 2013 – RCB vs PWI: Royal Challengers Bangalore Beat Pune Warriors India By 17 Runs

By on May 3, 2013

IPL 2013 - RCB vs PWI: AB de VilliersRoyal Challengers Bangalore 187 for 3 (Tiwary 52, de Villiers 50*) beat Pune Warriors India 170 for 9 (Uthappa 75, Vinay 3-31) by 17 runs…

Robin Uthappa’s fighting knock of 75 went in vain as Royal Challengers Bangalore restricted Pune Warriors India to 170/9 to clinch 17-run victory in IPL 6 match at Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium in Pune.

Murali Kartik’s double strike in the 18th over brought RCB back into the match. Kartik dismissed Abhishek Nayar and Uthappa to end Pune’s hopes.

Uthappa revived Pune Warriors India chase with his 34-ball fifty after the hosts lost their top order cheaply.

It was raining sixes in Pune when Uthappa and Angelo Mathews were batting in tandem as the duo added 63 for the fifth wicket in 33 balls to give Warriors a momentum.

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Vinay Kumar removed Yuvraj Singh and Steven Smith to dent Pune Warriors India’s chase.

Yuvraj tried to revive Warriors chase with Robin Uthappa as he smashed two sixes and added 31 runs in 19 balls but Kumar’s twin blows left Pune struggling at 81/4 in 10.5 overs.

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Moises Henriques struck to give Pune Warriors India a first blow as he removed Aaron Finch.

Pune suffered another blow when they lost Tirumalasetti Suman, who got run-out by Muttiah Muralitharan.

Earlier, AB de Villiers played a blinder of an innings as he notched up an unbeaten 23-ball 50 to help Royal Challengers Bangalore set a massive 188-run target for Pune Warriors India.

De Villiers smacked three fours and two sixes in the last over of the innings to power RCB to 187/3. De Villiers blitzkrieg knock was studded with six fours and two sixes.

De Villiers shared an unbeaten 68-run stand in just 29 balls with Moises Henriques. Henriques also complimented his partner’s knock as he scored 27 off 13 balls with the help of four boundaries and a six.

Pune Warriors India’s pacer Ashok Dinda struck in his successive overs to dismiss Virat Kohli and Saurabh Tiwary.

Saurabh Tiwary led Bangalore from the front as he notched up 42-ball fifty which is first for the Royal challengers. Tiwary smashed two sixes and as many fours during his half century knock.

After losing Chris Gayle early, Saurabh Tiwary and Kohli held their nerves to put up a 63-run partnership for the second wicket to put RCB in good position.

Earlier, Bangalore suffered their first blow when the dangerous Gayle was dismissed cheaply by T Suman.

A precarious Gayle (21) was caught by Bhuvneshwar Kumar off the bowling of Suman right at a time when he was getting into the groove to do some serious damage.

Gayle hit 2 boundaries and a lone six in his short-lived innings that involved a 36-run partnership for the opening wicket with Saurabh Tiwary.

Earlier, Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat against Pune Warriors India.

Warriors made two changes, bringing in Ajantha Mendis and Angelo Mathews in place of Luke Wright and Kane Richardson.


Pune Warriors India: Robin Uthappa (wk), Aaron Finch (capt), Tirumalasetti Suman, Yuvraj Singh, Steven Smith, Angelo Mathews, Abhishek Nayar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Ashok Dinda, Ajantha Mendis

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Lokesh Rahul, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli (capt), AB de Villiers, Moises Henriques, Saurabh Tiwary, Arun Karthik (wk), R Vinay Kumar, Murali Kartik, Muttiah Muralitharan, RP Singh

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login