• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

IPL 2012 – DD vs RR: Delhi Daredevils Thrash Rajasthan Royals By 6 Wickets

By on May 1, 2012

Delhi Daredevils 144 for 4 (Sehwag 73) beat Rajasthan Royals 141 for 6 (Dravid 57, Negi 4-18) by six wickets…

Skipper Virender Sehwag smashed 38-ball 73 to help Delhi Daredevils thrash Rajasthan Royals by 6 wickets in their Indian Premier League match at the Sawai Mansingh stadium.

Sehwag’s blitzkrieg make sure that Delhi chased down the modest 142-run target in just 15.2 overs as Daredevils continue their winning momentum. With the victory, Delhi registered their eight wins in ten matches and stand atop the points table with 16 points.

Sehwag raced to his fifty in just 20 balls to lead the Delhi run chase. Sehwag put on 96-run stand with Pietersen for the second wicket in quick time as the duo revive the run chase after early blow.

Sehwag smacked one six and a dozen boundaries in his whirlwind innings before Brad Hogg got better of him in the fifteenth over. But it was too little too late as Delhi required just 11 runs with 5.2 overs to go after Sehwag’s fall.

Delhi lost Ross Taylor (6) and Kevin Pietersen (36) in quick succession to be reduced to 106/3 in 11.4 overs.

Hogg dismissed Taylor in the twelfth over after Shane Watson got rid of Pietersen in the previous over to break the imposing second wicket stand between KP and Sehwag.

Pietersen hit a six and three fours in his 34-ball patient knock as he played the second fiddle to marauding Sehwag.

With the latest half-century, Sehwag scored record fifth consecutive fifties of the season.

Delhi raced to fifty in just five overs and scored 61 runs with the loss of 1 wicket in the mandatory six powerplay overs.

Ankeet Chavan struck in the very first over to give Rajasthan an early breakthrough. Chavan trapped Mahela Jayawardene leg before wicket to reduce Delhi 0/1 in 0.3 overs.

Asked to field first, young leg-spinner Pawan Negi (4-18) helped Daredevils restrict Royals to 141/6.

Rajasthan openers Rahul Dravid (57) and Ajinkya Rahane (42) started their innings aggressively as they added 71 runs to lay down a solid foundation but the latter batsmen couldn’t capitalize on it.

Negi struck twice in his final over to rock the Royals innings as they lost five wickets in the span of 25 runs.

Dravid hit seven boundaries in his quick-fire 43-ball knock before pacer Morne Morkel got better of him in the penultimate over. Dravid raced to his half-century in 35 balls to hold the one end as wickets kept falling from the other end after a solid start.

Pawan Negi removed Brad Hodge (1) and Ashok Menaria (2) and leave the Royals stuttering at 95/5 in 13 overs.

Pacer Umesh Yadav struck in the twelfth over to dismiss Owais Shah (1) and reduced Rajasthan to 90/3 in 11.4 overs.

Pawan Negi dismissed Shane Watson (8) soon after he got rid of in-form Ajinkya Rahane (42) in the ninth over.

Skipper Rahul Dravid and Rahane started Rajasthan innings aggressively and added 71 runs for the opening wicket.

Rajasthan scored 56 runs in their mandatory powerplay of six overs without losing any wicket.

The most successful opening pair of IPL 5 has added fifty-run stand in just 5 overs to lay down a solid foundation for the hosts.

Earlier, Rajasthan skipper Rahul Dravid won the toss and decided to bat against Delhi on Tuesday.


Rajasthan Royals: Rahul Dravid (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Brad Hodge, Owais Shah, Shreevats Goswami (wk), Ashok Menaria, Shane Watson, Brad Hogg, Ankeet Chavan, Pankaj Singh, Amit Singh.

Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardena, Virender Sehwag (capt), Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Yogesh Nagar, Naman Ojha (wk), Irfan Pathan, Pawan Negi, Umesh Yadav, Morne Morkel, Shahbaz Nadeem.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login