• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

IPL 2012 – RCB vs RR: Royal Challengers Bangalore Thrash Rajasthan Royals By 46 Runs

By on April 23, 2012

Royal Challengers Bangalore 189 for 3 (Dilshan 76*, de Villiers 59*) beat Rajasthan Royals 143 for 7 (Dravid 58, Appanna 4-19) by 46 runs…

Rajasthan Royals suffered the loss of Owais Shah and Shreevats Goswami in quick succession against Royal Challengers Bangalore in their IPL 5 match at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur.

KP Appanna rocked Rajasthan chase by claiming the first four wickets including the prize scalp of Rahul Dravid. Shah and Goswami also failed to consolidate Royals innings.

Rahul Dravid slammed a fifty to keep Rajasthan afloat in the mammoth chase of 190. Dravid reached to his fifty in 34 balls, smashing eight fours in his 58-run knock.

Rajasthan Royals started off well as Rahul Dravid and Ajinkya Rahane shared 56-run opening wicket stand against Royal Challengers Bangalore in their IPL 5 match at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur.

Rahane was not looking in his touch as he managed to score 13 off 18 balls. KP Appanna struck to give Bangalore much-needed breakthrough.

Earlier, a swashbuckling show by AB de Villiers in slog overs and a gritty unbeaten knock by Tilakaratne Dilshan powered Royal Challengers Bangalore to a daunting 189/3.

Opener Dilshan stayed unbeaten on 76 while de Villiers slammed a fiery 59 off 23 balls to help visitors set a massive target for hosts.

Villiers smashed five dazzling sixes and three boundaries during his knock and shared a solid 122-run stand for the fourth wicket with Dilshan.

Pacer Pankaj Singh gave Rajasthan first success as he got Virat Kohli (16) caught near boundary line after a steady start by RCB, who were invited to bat.

Kohli scored 16 and shared 23-run stand for the first wicket.

Dilshan then consolidated the innings with Mayank Agarwal. However, Brad Hogg didn’t allow Agarwal (15) to move further and got him caught by Hodge in the 10th over.

Before Bangalroe could recover from the blow, Hogg struck again to trap Chris Gayle in front of the wickets to reduce Bangalore to 67/2.

Dilshan was then joined by de Villiers at the crease. The duo denied Rajasthan any breakthrough and took their side to a big total.

Rajasthan Royals brought in Pankaj Singh and Ajit Chandila while Tilakaratne Dilshan is back in Bangalore along with KP Appanna.

Interestingly, Rajasthan’s only away win has been against Bangalore, by a rather comfortable 59-run margin on April 15.

Equations have changed since, with both Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers rocking for the Daniel Vettori-led side. There is a sense of solidity in the team, with Gayle leading the show.

RCB: Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, Saurabh Tiwary, AB de Villiers, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Daniel Vettori, Arun Karthik, Vinay Kumar, Kotarangada Appanna, Zaheer Khan

RR: Rahul Dravid, Ajinkya Rahane, Owais Shah, Ashok Menaria, Brad Hodge, Kevon Cooper, Shreevats Goswami, Ajit Chandila, Brad Hogg, Pankaj Singh, Siddharth Trivedi

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login