• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

IPL 2012 – KKR vs DD: Delhi Daredevils Thrash Kolkata Knight Riders By 8 wickets In Rain-shortened Match

By on April 6, 2012

Delhi Daredevils 100 for 2 (Irfan 42*, Finch 30) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 97 for 9 (Shukla 26, M Morkel 3-18) by eight wickets

Irfan Pathan quick-fire (42*) and Aaron Finch (30) propelled Delhi Daredevils to register the comprehensive eight wickets victory over Kolkata Knight Riders in the rain-truncated 12 over-a-side IPL 5 match at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Daredevils chased down the target 98 runs target in 11.1 overs with five balls to spare. Pathan played swashbuckling knock, scoring 42 not out off just 20 balls that included two fours and three huge sixes.

Kolkata’s Jacques Kallis and Rajat Bhatia removed Aaron Finch and Virender Sehwag respectively to give Delhi Daredevils double jolts.

Chasing 98, Finch and Sehwag gave Delhi a solid start as they have added 49 runs in 38 balls, laying the foundation for Daredevils to register the victory in the their first IPL 5 match.

Earlier, Morne Morkel (3-18) led a discipline Delhi Daredevils bowling unit as they restricted Kolkata Knight Riders to 97/9 on Thursday.

Sent in to bat, Kolkata lost wickets at regular intervals in the second match of the IPL 5.

KKR started terribly as they lost Yusuf Pathan, Manoj Tiwary, Jacques Kallis and Brendon McCullum inside four overs.

Earlier, Delhi skipper Sehwag won the toss and decided to field against Kolkata on Thursday.

The match has been reduced to 12 overs a side after long two-and-half hours rain delays.

“It is easier to chase in a shorter game,” said Sehwag after winning the toss. The Delhi skipper also added that it is difficult to play without some of the missing players.

Gambhir said that a shortened game like this is a more exciting one than normal matches.

For Gautam Gambhir, who has been stripped of Indian vice-captaincy, the tournament would mean a lot personally as he would be eager to let his leadership skills do the talking, besides contributing at the top of the order.


Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Manoj Tiwary, Laxmi Ratan Shukla (wk), Yusuf Pathan, Rajat Bhatia, Debabrata Das, Iqbal Abdulla, Jacques Kallis, Brendon McCullum, Marchant de Lange, Brett Lee.

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (captain), Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Naman Ojha (wk), Shahbaz Nadeem, Venugopal Rao, Yogesh Nagar, Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Morne Morkel, Roelf van der Merwe.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login