• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

IPL 2012 – DC vs PWI: Deccan Chargers Register Maiden IPL 5 Win, Beat Pune Warriors By 18 Runs

By on April 26, 2012

Deccan Chargers 177 for 4 (White 78) beat Pune Warriors 159 for 7 (Reddy 2-32) by 18 runs…

Chasing 178-run target, Pune Warriors India lost wickets at regular intervals against Deccan Chargers in their IPL 5 match at Subrata Roy Sahara stadium on Thursday.

Rusty Theron dismissed dangerous Steven Smith (26) as Chargers look for maiden victory in this year’s Indian Premier League. Smith smacked three huge sixes in his 13-ball blitzkrieg.

Ashish Reddy struck twice in his second over to rock the Warriors run chase. Reddy dismissed Marlon Samuels (3) and Robin Uthappa (29) in the 14th over to reduce Pune to 91/5 in 14 overs.

Uthappa hit a six and two boundaries in his 27-ball knock.

Pacer Manpreet Gony dismissed Sourav Ganguly in the tenth over to put Deccan in front. Ganguly played a handy innings of 23 off 20 balls which included a six and three boundaries and added 30 runs for the third wicket with Robin Uthappa.

Pune Warriors started uneasily as they lost openers Manish Pandey (21) and Jesse Ryder (7) inside six overs.

Rusty Theron dismissed Pandey to give Pune a big blow as Warriors are reduced to 43/2 in 5.2 overs. Pandey played a patient innings of 21 off 20 balls as he hit a six and two fours.

Ankit Sharma gave Deccan early breakthrough when he dismissed Ryder to reduce Pune to 15/1 in 2.3 overs.

Electing to bat first, Cameron White (78 off 46 balls) scored his maiden IPL fifty to help Deccan Chargers set 178-run target for Pune Warriors.

White smashed five sixes and six fours and added impressive 75 runs for the fourth wicket with JP Duminy (26 not out) to lead the Deccan’s innings.

White’s whirlwind knock came to an end when Marlon Samuels got better of him in the 18th over. Duminy played an unusually patient innings of 26 off 24 balls which include just one six.

Spinner Rahul Sharma got rid of Kumar Sangakkara (12) to reduce Deccan Chargers to 83/3.

Sharma clean bowled Sangakkara to break the growing partnership between Deccan skipper and Cameron White for the third wicket. The duo added 33 valuable runs after they lost openers in quick succession.

Deccan lost openers Parthiv Patel (24) and Shikhar Dhawan (16) inside 6 overs.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar struck in the sixth over to get rid of Patel, who was playing well till then, to reduce Deccan to 50/2 in 6 overs. Patel smashed a six and three boundaries in his 18-ball 24 to lay a decent platform for the Chargers.

Deccan lost Dhawan (16) after the openers added 39 runs in 4 overs. Dhawan was run-out in the final ball of the fourth over while trying to complete a cheeky run. The opener hit a six and a four in his 11-ball short stay on the pitch.

Earlier, Deccan skipper Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and decided to bat against Pune on Thursday.

Deccan rested their pace spearhead Dale Steyn for the match, Rusty Theron is playing in his place. Chargers made two more changes in the squad as Manpreet Gony replaced Veer Pratap Singh and Ashish Reddy is in for Anand Rajan.

Whereas, Warriors made two changes in the team – Marlon Samuels for Luke Wright and Bhuveneshwar Kumar for Murali Kartik.


Pune Warriors: Steven Smith, Marlon Samuels, Sourav Ganguly (C), Ashish Nehra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Robin Uthappa (W), Jesse Ryder, Manish Pandey, Rahul Sharma, Mithun Manhas, Alfonso Thomas

Deccan Chargers: Kumar Sangakkara (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Parthiv Patel (W), Cameron White, JP Duminy, Ishank Jaggi, Ankit Sharma, Amit Mishra, Ashish Reddy, Rusty Theron, Manpreet Gony.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login