• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

India vs Australia 1st T20: Australia Beat India By 31 Runs In 1st T20I, Take 1-0 Lead

By on February 1, 2012

Australia 4 for 171 (Wade 72, Hussey 42) beat India 6 for 140 (Dhoni 48*, Hussey 2-4) by 31 runs…

Matthew Wade’s 72 and David Hussey’s all-round performance propelled Australia to 31-run victory over India in the first Twenty20 international of the two-match series at Sydney.

Daniel Christian removed Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja in his successive overs to take Australia into commanding position the first Twenty20 international against India.

Chasing 172 runs target, India crumbled as they lost five wickets inside 75 runs in the first Twenty20 international of the two-match series against Australia at Sydney.

Bowling change got the early reward for Australia as David Hussey struck in his first two overs to scalp Gautam Gambhir and Rohit Sharma and left India struggling at 53/4 in 7.1 overs. Brad Hogg joined the party as he dismissed Virat Kohli for 22.

Gambhir and Kohli resurrected Indian innings as they have added 41 runs in 30 balls for the second wicket.

India got off to poor start as they lost Virender Sehwag in the first over. Sehwag, who smashed a boundary in his 3 balls stay, got a thick leading edge off Brett Lee that went to David Hussey at first slip.

Earlier, Matthew Wade’s 72 and David Hussey’s 42 powered Australia to post 171/4 in the first match of the two-match series.

Wade has been the star of Australian innings, who smacked five boundaries and three huge sixes in his swashbuckling knock that came in just 43 balls. Part time bowler Suresh Raina ended Wade’s blistering innings to give India vital breakthrough.

David Hussey also played useful knock, scored 42 runs in 30 balls with the help of one four and three sixes.

Australia lost Wade early when the play resumed after the rain has stopped play when the hosts reached 131/2 in 14.4 overs.

Matthew Wade reached his maiden Twenty20 international half-century with a six that also brought up Australia’s hundred in the 13th over.

R Ashwin had Travis Birt caught by Suresh Raina in the covers as Australia lost their second wicket in the tenth over in the first match of the two-match series.

R Vinay Kumar gave India the first breakthrough when he had David Warner caught by Raina in the covers.

Vinay bowled a fullish length delivery angling into the batsman, at 128.4 kph, Warner hopped back a bit to the leg side for the heave across the line but got a top edge. It flew high in the air and Raina took a regulation catch at covers.

Warner smashed two sixes and a four in his 14-ball 25.

The breakthrough came after Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and chose to bowl.

After winning the toss, Dhoni said that the pitch looked like a good wicket and it was good to know the target.

Australian skipper George Bailey said that he would have batted anyways and added that they are a very balanced side. Three debutants for Australia – Bailey, James Faulkner and Xavier Doherty.

The Indians would look to turn the table in their favour after a mediocre Test series and Dhoni has a talented pool of youngsters at his disposal.

Dhoni would be hoping for lady luck to smile on him in the first of the two T20 matches ahead of the tri-series, featuring hosts Australia and Sri Lanka.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Capt.), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, R Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar.

Australia: George Bailey (Capt.), David Warner, Matthew Wade, Travis Birt, David Hussey, Mitchell Marsh, Daniel Christian, James Faulkner, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Xavier Doherty.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login