• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

CLT20 2011 – KKR vs War: Kolkata Beat Warriors By 22 Runs (D/L)

By on October 2, 2011

Kolkata Knight Riders 83 for 1 in 9 overs (Gambhir 33*, Kallis 31*) beat Warriors 155 for 4 (Ingram 61, JJ Smuts 46, Boucher 38*) by 22 runs (D/L method)…

Kolkata Knight Riders beat the Warriors by 22 runs through D/L method in their Champions League Twenty20 clash at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Saturday.

Kolkata came into the game knowing exactly what needed to be done and they did it in some style. They have finished their league engagements with 4 points and will now wait for the other results from this group. Kallis and Gambhir looked in majestic touch and made light work of the chase.

Warriors did not help themselves one bit by dropping both players. Warriors would like to forget this one and prepare themselves for what will be a must win encounter against Somerset on the 5th of October.

Kolkata Knight Riders were 83/1 in 9 overs in pursuit of 156 rain stopped the play.

Jacques Kallis (31) and captain Gautam Gambhir (33) were at the crease for Kolkata and according to the Duckworth/Lewis system, the par score is 61.

Manvinder Bisla put up a 35-run opening stand with Kallis before falling to Wayne Parnell in the fourth over.

Bisla hit a six and 2 fours in his 12-ball 19 before edging a Parnell delivery for wicket-keeper Mark Boucher to take the catch.

Earlier, Colin Ingram’s 47-ball 61, JJ Smuts’ 46 and Mark Boucher’s unbeaten 38 took Warriors to 155/4 against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Boucher hit 5 fours in his 27-ball 38.

Ingram hit 3 sixes and 3 fours in his knock and fell to Brett Lee who had him caught by Iqbal Abdulla at wide long-on.

Ingram reached his fifth fifty in T20 cricket off 33 balls.

Warriors lost their second wicket when Balaji had Smuts caught by Iqbal Abdulla at mid-off.

Smuts hit 6 fours in his 43-ball 46.

Ashwell Prince edged a Jacques Kallis delivery onto his stumps as Warriors lost their first wicket in the second over.

The breakthrough came after Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir won the toss and chose to bowl.

The toss for the match was delayed by about 45 minutes due to wet outfield.

Kolkata have replaced Brad Haddin, Jaidev Unadkat and Shami Ahmed by Shakib Al Hasan, Manvinder Bisla and Balaji.

Warriors are playing an unchanged XI.


Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (Capt.), Jacques Kallis, Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Manvinder Bisla, Rajat Bhatia, Brett Lee, Iqbal Abdulla, Shakib Al Hasan, Lakshmipathy Balaji.

Warriors: Johan Botha (Capt.), JJ Smuts, Ashwell Prince, Colin Ingram, Mark Boucher, Kelly Smuts, Craig Thyssen, Nicky Boje, Wayne Parnell, Rusty Theron, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login