• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

CLT20 Qualifier – T&T vs LF: Trinidad And Tobago Crush Leicestershire Foxes By 51 Runs

By on September 20, 2011

Trinidad & Tobago 168 for 2 (Simmons 67, Barath 62, Gurney 2-33, Narine 2-18) beat Leicestershire 117 for 9 (Taylor 56*, Rampaul 4-14, Badree 2-7, Narine 2-18) by 51 runs…

Trinidad and Tobago qualified for the Champions League Twenty20 by inflicting a crushing 51-run defeat on Leicestershire Foxes in the third qualifying match at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Tuesday.

Ravi Rampaul took four wickets from his four overs conceding 14 runs.

Leicestershire’s run chase got off to a bad start losing openers Joshua Cobb and Andrew McDonald in the first two overs.

Badree struck first for T&T when he clean bowled McDonald for a duck in the first over.

In the next over Rampaul had Cobb caught by Lendl Simmons at deep point for the second breakthrough.

Rampaul took his second wicket when he clean bowled Wayne White for a duck.

Badree then took his second wicket when he clean bowled Will Jefferson.

Leicestershire lost their fifth wicket when Sunil Narine trapped Paul Nixon plumb in front of the wicket for a duck.

Abdul Razzaq added 47 runs with James Taylor for the sixth wicket before falling to Kevon Cooper.

Taylor, who reached his 50 off 44 balls, top scored for Leicestershire with a 56-run knock that came off 47 balls.

Earlier, half-centuries by openers Adrian Barath and Lendl Simmons powered Trinidad and Tobago to 168/2.

Darren Bravo hit 2 sixes in his unbeaten 9-ball 18.

Barath and Simmons put up a 139-run stand before both were dismissed by Harry Gurney off successive deliveries.

Barath’s 47-ball 62 was studded with 2 sixes and 6 fours while Simmons’ 58-ball 67 came with the help of 7 fours.

Barath reached his half-century off 38 balls after Simmons hit a 41-ball fifty.

Simmons and Barath brought up Trinidad and Tobago’s 50 in the seventh over and the 100 in the thirteenth over.

The partnership came after Trinidad and Tobago captain Daren Ganga won the toss and chose to bat.

Trinidad and Tobago have made no changes from the eleven that beat Ruhunu XI on Monday.


Trinidad and Tobago: Daren Ganga (Capt.), Adrian Barath, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Jason Mohammed, Daren Ganga, Denesh Ramdin, Sherwin Ganga, Kevon Cooper, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul.

Leicestershire Foxes: Matthew Hoggard (Capt.), Will Jefferson, Joshua Cobb, James Taylor, Jacques du Toit, Abdul Razzaq, Paul Nixon, Wayne White, Andrew McDonald, Claude Henderson, Harry Gurney.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login