• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

CLT20 Qualifier – RXI vs TT: Trinidad And Tobago Beat Ruhunu XI By 5 Wickets

By on September 19, 2011

Trinidad & Tobago 144 for 5 (Darren Bravo 44*, Sherwin Ganga 39*) beat Ruhuna 138 (Chandimal 50) by five wickets…

Fine unbeaten knocks from Darren Bravo (44) and Sherwin Ganga (39) enabled Trinidad and Tobago to register an emphatic five-wicket victory over Ruhunu XI in the first qualifying match of the Champions League Twenty20 at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Monday.

Bravo and Ganga came together at the crease when their team was in a spot of bother at 81/5 and added 63 runs to take their team to victory in 18.5 overs.

Bravo hit a six and a four in his 49-ball 44 while Ganga’s 15-ball 39 was studded with 2 sixes and 4 fours.

Chinthaka Perera gave Ruhunu XI the fourth breakthrough when he had Denesh Ramdin caught behind by Dinesh Chandimal.

Sanath Jayasuriya gave Ruhunu XI the third breakthrough when he trapped Trinidad and Tobago captain Daren Ganga plumb in front of the wicket.

Trinidad and Tobago got off to a bad start in pursuit of 139 losing their openers in the first three overs.

Trinidad and Tobago lost their first wicket when Adrian Barath was stumped by Dinesh Chandimal off Janaka Gunaratne on the fourth ball of their innings.

Gunaratne struck again in his next over when he had Lendl Simmons caught by Shalika Karunanayake at mid-off.

Earlier, Ruhunu XI lost five batsmen to run outs and were bowled out for 138 runs by Trinidad and Tobago.

Rampaul took an easy return catch to dismiss Dinesh Chandimal (50), who was the top scorer for Ruhunu XI.

Chandimal hit a 46-ball half-century to lead the Ruhunu XI fightback.

This was Chandimal’s sixth fifty in Twenty20 cricket.

Ruhunu XI lost their fourth wicket when Kevon Cooper (20) clean bowled Janaka Gunaratne off a slower ball.

Opting to bat, Ruhunu XI got off to a bad start losing three wickets in two overs.

Samuel Badree first trapped Sanath Jayasuriya plumb in front of the wicket in the third over and in the next over, captain Mahela Udawatte and Milinda Siriwardana got run out off alternate deliveries.

This was after Udawatte won the toss and chose to bat.


Ruhunu XI: Mahela Udawatte (Capt.), Sanath Jayasuriya, TM Sampath, Kushal Perera, Amal Athulathmudali, Dinesh Chandimal, Milinda Siriwardana, Janaka Gunaratne, Shalika Karunanayake, Chinthaka Perera, Arosh Janoda.

Trinidad & Tobago: Daren Ganga (Capt.), Adrian Barath, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Jason Mohammed, Daren Ganga, Denesh Ramdin, Sherwin Ganga, Kevon Cooper, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login