• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

CLT20 2011 – MI vs T&T: Mumbai Indians Beat T&T In A Last Ball Thriller

By on September 26, 2011

Mumbai Indians 99 for 9 (Rayudu 36, Rampaul 3-17) beat Trinidad & Tobago 98 (Harbhajan 3-22, Malinga 2-22) by one wicket…

Mumbai Indians beat Trinidad & Tobago by one wicket in a thrilling match in their CL T20 encounter at the M Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore on Monday.

Chasing a score of only 99 runs, Mumbai Indians sealed the match in the last ball with only one wicket in hand.

Mumbai are now on top of Group A with 4 points. Heart-break though for the exciting boys from the Carribean Islands. At the end of a riveting T20 match at the M Chinnaswamy stadium, it was not bat or ball that decided the winner, but it was just one moment of madness that cost T&T the game.

A cruel finish for T&T and ecstasy for Mumbai Indians as the Champions League T20 has sprang into life after a few exciting finishes.

Rampaul took his third wicket when he clean bowled Andrew Symonds for a first ball duck.

Rampaul first had Tirumalsetti Suman caught by Sherwin Ganga at mid-off and three balls later had James Franklin caught by Samuel Badree at first slip.

Mumbai Indians got off to a bad start as Badree had Aiden Blizzard caught by Lendl Simmons in the third over.

To inflict more owes to the Mumbai side spinner Sunil Narine dismissed fellow countryman Kieron Pollard for only 9 runs. Pollard set himself up for the mighty pull of the Narine short ball that spun back in, got an inside edge onto his pads and then to the leg stump.

Earlier, captain Harbhajan Singh took three wickets in three overs and Lasith Malinga took two wickets as Mumbai Indians bundled out Trinidad & Tobago for 98 runs in 16.2 overs.

Harbhajan took his third wicket when he trapped Sherwin Ganga plumb in front of the wicket.

Trinidad & Tobago lost five wickets in seven overs after a fine start.

Harbhajan dismissed Denesh Ramdin and Darren Bravo in consecutive overs to reduce T&T to 64/5.

Harbhajan took a good return catch to dismiss Ramdin and in his next over clean bowled Bravo.

Rajagopal Sathish took a superb diving catch at long-off to dismiss T&T captain Daren Ganga off James Franklin.

T&T lost their second wicket when Lendl Simmons made the basic mistake of not grounding his bat in the crease and was run out.

Simmons hit a six and 2 fours in his 18-ball 21 before getting run out as his foot was on the line but he didn’t ground the bat when the bails were removed by Mumbai wicket-keeper Ambati Rayudu.

Lasith Malinga gave Mumbai the first breakthrough when he clean bowled Adrian Barath off a slower ball in the third over.

The breakthrough came after T&T captain Ganga won the toss and chose to bat.

Trinidad & Tobago are unchanged from the last match and Mumbai Indians have replaced the injured Davy Jacobs with James Franklin.


Mumbai Indians: Harbhajan Singh (Capt.), Aiden Blizzard, Tirumalsetti Suman, Ambati Rayudu, Andrew Symonds, Kieron Pollard, Rajagopal Sathish, James Franklin, Lasith Malinga, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Trinidad & Tobago: Daren Ganga (Capt.), Lendl Simmons, Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Jason Mohammed, Sherwin Ganga, Kevon Cooper, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login