• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

IPL T20 2011 – DC vs DD: Sehwag Fiery Ton Steers Daredevils To 4-wicket Win Over Chargers

By on May 5, 2011

Delhi Daredevils 179 for 6 (Sehwag 119, Ishant 2-16) beat Delhi Daredevils 175 for 5 (Duminy 55, Sangakkara 44, Agarkar 2-29) by four wickets…

Virender Sehwag scored a sensational ton as Delhi Daredevils established a thumping 4-wicket win over Deccan Chargers in their IPL match at the Rajiv Gandhi stadium in Hyderabad on Thursday.

A single-handed virtuoso performance from Sehwag has handed his side an improbable win.

One of the most devastating hundreds that one will ever see in the game of cricket. Though he was dropped twice, it was some sight to see Viru tear the opposition apart. The crowd’s roar when Sehwag got to his 100 showed how great an innings it was.

After the end of 7 overs Daredevils were 32/3 and looked down and out, but, single over of Ishan Malhotra turned the game on it’s head. Sehwag looted 23 off it and from then on it was just carnage all around.

Sehwag who played one of the best IPL innings a few games ago at Kochi, just bettered himself.

The white ball soared repeatedly over the fence as the supporters of the home side were sent into gasping bouts of amazement.

Virender Sehwag became the 6th Indian to score a century in the IPL. It was the 4th individual hundred of IPL 4 and 16th in the IPL history so far.

Ishant Sharma dismissed Naman Ojha and Venugopal Rao early to put the Delhi Daredevils on the backfoot.

Ishant dismissed Rao (3) of a short delivery. Rao backed away and tried to slash the ball hard but only managed to miscue it high in the air towards point as JP Duminy took a brilliant catch.

A brilliant half-century from JP Duminy helped Deccan Chargers set Delhi Daredevils 176 runs to win.

Duminy who was replaced in place of White, belted some huge sixes and brought up a quick-fire fifty.

Yogesh Nagar got both Christian and Duminy out, but both were overturned as he had overstepped. Sloppy stuff from Delhi even as credit has to be given to Sangakkara, who played a classy knock.

Only Aavishkar Salvi and Ajit Agarkar impressed with the ball for the Daredevils.

Deccan Chargers lost their openers Shikhar Dhawan (29) and Ravi Teja (2) early.

After a good partnership with captain Kumar Sangakkara, Dhawan came forward to an Agarkar delivery and drove it straight to mid on where Aavishkar Salvi took a dolly.

Earlier, Delhi Daredevils captain Virender Sehwag won the toss and elected to field first.

Delhi have made three changes for the match as they brought in Avishkar Salvi, Aaron Finch and James Hopes in place of Warner, Van Der Merwe, and Umesh Yadav.

Where as Deccan have made one change, Ishant Malhotra replaces Pragyan Ojha.


Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (c), Morne Morkel, Irfan Pathan, Travis Birt, Ajit Agarkar, Y Venugopal Rao, Aaron Finch, Naman Ojha, James Hopes, Aavishkar Salvi, Yogesh Nagar.

Deccan Chargers: Sunny Sohal, Shikhar Dhawanm, Kumar Sangakkara, Jean Paul Duminy, Daniel Christian, Ravi Teja, Bharat Chipli, Amit Mishra, Dale Steyn, Ishan Malhotra, Ishant Sharma.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login