• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

IPL T20 2011 – CSK vs DC: Chennai Super Kings Beat Deccan Chargers By 19 Runs

By on May 1, 2011

Chennai Super Kings 165 for 5 (Raina 59, Hussey 46, Morkel 19, Ojha 3-26) beat Deccan Chargers 146 for 8 (Sohal 56, Morkel 3-38, Jakati 2-23) by 19 runs…

Albie Morkel took 3 wickets after Suresh Raina’s 35-ball 59 as Chennai Super Kings beat Deccan Chargers by 19 runs in their IPL match at MA Chidambaram stadium in Chennai on Sunday.

Chasing a victory target of 166 runs, Deccan managed 146/8 in their 20 overs.

Doug Bollinger clean bowled Deccan Chargers captain Kumar Sangakkara as the visitors lost their fourth wicket.

Sangakkara walked way outside off-stump for the pick-up shot over short fine leg, but missed the delivery that went on to hit the middle stump. Sangakkara hit a six and a four in his 12-ball 15.

Morkel then dismissed Cameron White and Jean Paul Duminy in the 19th over to put the match beyond Deccan’s reach.

Deccan opener Sunny Sohal hit 4 sixes and 6 fours in his 31-ball 56 before he was clean bowled by Shadab Jakati.

Jakati took his second wicket when he clean bowled Shikhar Dhawan to place Deccan at 90/2.

Deccan lost their third wicket when Albie Morkel had Bharat Chipli caught by Jakati to reduce Deccan to 110/3.

Earlier, Suresh Raina’s 35-ball 59 and Michael Hussey’s 41-ball 45 powered Chennai Super Kings to 165/5.

Albie Morkel hit three sixes off the last three balls of the 19th over bowled by Ishant Sharma with the last one landing on the roof of the stadium and at 114 metres was the longest of the tournament, bettering his own record of 109 metres that was hit off the previous delivery.

Morkel hit 19 runs off 6 balls before he was run out.

Chennai captain MS Dhoni hit a six and a four in his 22-ball 21 before he was stumped by Kumar Sangakkara off Pragyan Ojha.

Raina hit 2 sixes and 6 fours in his knock and added 58 runs with his captain MS Dhoni for the third wicket.

Raina was dismissed by Ojha who had him caught by Shikhar Dhawan at deep mid-wicket.

Hussey hit 46 before he was caught by Ishant Sharma at deep mid-wicket off Harmeet Singh as Chennai recovered after the early dismissal of Murali Vijay.

Hussey hit 5 fours in his knock and added 60 runs with Suresh Raina for the second wicket.

Chennai lost their first wicket in the fourth over when Vijay edged a Ojha delivery onto his stumps.

The breakthrough came after Dhoni won the toss and chose to bat.

Chennai have dropped Tim Southee and Nuwan Kulasekara and brought in Albie Morkel and Suraj Randiv.

Deccan have replaced Ravi Teja, Manpreet Gony and Dale Steyn with Harmeet Singh, Pragyan Ojha and JP Duminy.


Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Capt.), Murali Vijay, Michael Hussey, Suresh Raina, S Badrinath, Srikkanth Anirudha, Albie Morkel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Doug Bollinger, Shadab Jakati, Suraj Randiv.

Deccan Chargers: Kumar Sangakkara (Capt.), Sunny Sohal, Shikhar Dhawan, Jean Paul Duminy, Cameron White, Daniel Christian, Bharat Chipli, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, Harmeet Singh.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login