• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

India vs West Indies Tour: Gambhir, Yuvraj Out Of WI Tour; Raina To Lead ODI Team

By on May 27, 2011

Gautam Gambhir will not tour the West Indies due to his injured shoulder, it was finally confirmed by the BCCI after Friday’s selection committee meeting to pick the Test squad. But in an unfortunate development today, Yuvraj Singh has also opted out of the tour due to a respiratory infection.

Yuvraj has a small patch of pneumonitis on the left lung. Sachin Tendulkar, who had earlier opted out of the ODIs, will now miss the whole tour citing family commitments. With Gambhir’s injury, and with Virender Sehwag undergoing a shoulder surgery, India will be without both their regular openers after a long time.

“Tendulkar will not play the Test series. However, he will be available for the full tour of England, that follows,” the BCCI said.

Suresh Raina will replace Gambhir as the ODI captain. Manoj Tiwary and Shikhar Dhawan have been named the replacement batsmen. Harbhajan Singh will be Raina’s deputy.


Tamil Nadu batsmen Subramaniam Badrinath and Abhinav Mukund have been brought in while ODI regular Virat Kohli has also been named in the squad. Captain MS Dhoni and Zaheer Khan will be available for the Tests. Test specialist VVS Laxman has been named Dhoni’s deputy.

Laxman was earlier India’s vice-captain on the South Africa in 2006. Munaf Patel, who last played a Test on the tour of New Zealand in 2009, is also back in the Test squad.

Badrinath was the highest run-scorer in the Ranji Trophy last season with 922 runs, including four tons and three fifties with a highest score of 195 at an average of 131.71.


Badrinath has a stellar first-class record and has scored 7478 runs at an average of 62.31, with 27 centuries and 32 fifties. He last played a Test at home against South Africa in 2010.

Mukund had an impressive Ranji Trophy season. In nine matches, he made 620 runs with a highest score of 232 at an average of 56.36.

Dhawan was the highest run-scorer for Deccan Chargers in IPL-4 with 400 runs at an average of 33.33 and strike rate of 129.03. Tiwary scored 359 runs at an average of 51.28 and strike rate of 110.46 for Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL-4.

Delhi’s Dhawan played his only ODI against Australia in October 2010 where he scored a blob. Bengal’s Tiwary played his only ODI against Australia in February 2008 and scored two runs before being famously done in by a Brett Lee yorker. He slipped off the radar for the next couple of years before working his way back into form.

Kohli has scored 2131 runs, including seven centuries and eight half-centuries with a highest score of 197 at an average of 57.59 in 30 first-class matches.

Patel played the last of his 20 Tests against Sri Lanka in August 2008, where he filled in for Dhoni. He has 683 runs at an average of 29.69 and 41 catches with eight stumpings.

The selection meeting was also attended by India’s new coach Duncan Fletcher.

Test squad:

MS Dhoni (C/WK), VVS Laxman (VC), Murali Vijay, Abhinav Mukund, Rahul Dravid, Virat Kohli, Subramaniam Badrinath, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, S Sreesanth, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel (WK).

Limited-overs squad:

Suresh Raina (C), R Ashwin, S Badrinath, Harbhajan Singh (VC), Virat Kohli, Praveen Kumar, Amit Mishra, Munaf Patel, Parthiv Patel (WK), Yusuf Pathan, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Manoj Tiwary, Shikhar Dhawan.

Source: Yahoo Cricket

You must be logged in to post a comment Login