• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

ICC World T20 Sri Lanka vs India: Sri Lanka Knock India Out Of Twenty20 World Cup

By on May 12, 2010

Sri Lanka 167 for 5 (Mathews 46, Sangakkara 46, Kapugedera 37*) beat India 163 for 5 (Raina 63) by five wickets…

Sri Lanka took a huge stride towards the World Twenty20 semifinals with a five-wicket last ball win over India that knocked their Asian rivals out of the tournament on Tuesday.

Chamara Kapugedera’s six off the final ball saw Sri Lanka to a dramatic win after man-of-the-match Angelo Mathews and captain Kumar Sangakkara both made 46 to revive the innings after a top-order collapse.

If Australia beat hosts the West Indies in the day’s second and final Group F match, also at Beausejour, Sri Lanka will go through to the last four.

And even if the Aussies are beaten, they would have to lose by 24 runs for the West Indies to get in ahead of 2009 beaten finalists Sri Lanka.

India – who lost all their Super Eights matches – had to win by at least 20 runs to keep their own slim semifinal hopes alive.

Having made 163 for five, that meant restricting Sri Lanka to 143 or under.

But their hopes of doing just that ended when Chamara Kapugedera struck a Vinay Kumar full toss for six off the penultimate ball of the 19th over.

Kapugedara repeated the dose next ball and Sri Lanka needed 13 to win off the last over.

Mathews put them in sight by smashing the first ball of the 20th over, from left-arm quick Ashish Nehra for six.

But he was run out off the fifth ball going for a tight single by bowler Nehra’s direct hit, having faced 37 balls with three sixes and two fours.

However, with three needed off the last ball, Kapugedera carved Nehra over cover for six to finish on 37 not out.

Sri Lanka were rocked by the early loss of star batsmen Mahela Jayawardene and Sanath Jayasuriya.

Jayawardene’s previous scores this tournament were 81, 101, 98 not out and nine. But he was out third ball when he nicked a good length delivery from Nehra and was caught at slip by Yusuf Pathan.

Veteran left-hander Jayasuriya was out for a duck when he pulled Vinay Kumar straight to Dinesh Karthik at deep midwicket.

Tillakaratne Dilshan, player of the tournament at last year’s World Twenty20 in England, made 33 at better than a run-a-ball before he swung Pathan to Yuvraj Singh at deep backward square.

But Sangakkara hit back with a 33-ball innings featuring three sixes and two fours before he was bowled middle stump missing a cut shot against Kumar.

Sangakkara’s exit left Sri Lanka 105 for four in the 15th over.

Kapugedera was given a reprieve on seven when, looking to guide Nehra through third man he edged behind but a diving Mahendra Singh Dhoni, India’s captain and wicketkeeper, couldn’t hold the one-handed chance.

Suresh Raina top scored with 63 for India on the ground where he made a century against South Africa earlier in the tournament.

India were well-placed for a big score at 90 for one at the halfway stage but Sri Lanka, led by unorthodox quick Lasith Malinga (two for 25), restricted them to just 73 runs from the second 10 overs.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply