• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

ICC World T20 Pakistan vs South Africa: Pakistan Knock South Africa Out Of Twenty20 World Cup

By on May 10, 2010

Pakistan 148 for 7 (Umar Akmal 51, Kamran Akmal 37, Langeveldt 4-19) beat South Africa 137 for 7 (de Villiers 53, Ajmal 4-26) by 11 runs…

South Africa were knocked out of Twenty20 World Cup when they lost to Pakistan by 11 runs as the defending champions kept their hopes alive in the tournament at the Beausejour Stadium in St. Lucia on Monday.

Saeed Ajmal took 4 wickets as South Africa failed to chase a low victory target of 149 runs, managing 137/7 in their 20 overs.

Pakistan can still go through to the semi-final of the tournament if England beat New Zealand in the next match.

The Proteas got off to a poor start in their run chase as Misbah-ul-Haq took a good catch at mid-wicket to dismiss Herschelle Gibbs (3) off Abdul Razzaq in the third over.

Smith’s poor form in the tournament continued as he fell after scoring a run-a-ball 13.

South Africa lost their second wicket when their captain Graeme Smith gave a simple catch to his Pakistani counterpart Shahid Afridi at mid-on.

Umar Akmal took a good catch at long-on to dismiss Jacques Kallis and reduce South Africa to 56/3.

South Africa then slid further into trouble as Jean-Paul Duminy gave a simple catch to Khalid Latif at deep mid-wicket to be reduced to 68/4.

AB de Villiers kept the South African hopes alive by hitting a half-century off 38 balls just before taking South Africa over the 100-run mark.

But soon after de Villiers was caught behind by Kamran Akmal while playing a scoop shot.

Mark Boucher contributed with a 14-ball 12 and AB Morkel remained unbeaten on a run-a-ball 7 as the Proteas could not get big hits off the Pakistani spinners.

Earlier, Charl Langeveldt took 4 wickets as South Africa restricted Pakistan to 148/7.

Opting to bat, the defending champions got off to a bad start as Dale Steyn gave South Africa an early breakthrough when he had Salman Butt caught by captain Graeme Smith at mid-on.

Pakistan lost their second wicket when Jacques Kallis had Khalid Latif caught by Dale Steyn at mid-on.

Pakistan were in a spot of bother at 18/3 when Langeveldt trapped Mohammad Hafeez plumb in front of the wicket.

Akmal hit 2 sixes and 3 fours in his 33-ball 37 and added 51 runs with his brother Umar Akmal for the fourth wicket before Herschelle Gibbs took a good diving catch at backward point to dismiss him and reduce Pakistan to 69/4.

Umar Akmal then put up a 61-run stand with his captain Shahid Afridi as Pakistan crossed the 100-run mark.

But just when Akmal and Afridi looked to take Pakistan to a formidable total, Langeveldt dismissed Akmal and Afridi in one over to reduce Pakistan to 132/6.

Akmal hit 4 sixes and 2 fours in his 33-ball 51 before he was caught by Herschelle Gibbs at long-on. Langeveldt struck again three deliveries later when he clean bowled Afridi who hit a six and 4 fours in his 18-ball 30.

Misbah-ul-Haq threw his bat around before he was dismissed by Langeveldt for 3 and Abdul Razzaq remained not out on 10-ball 11.

Both teams have made one change in their teams. Pakistan have brought in Khalid Latif in place of Mohammad Sami and South Africa have replaced Morne Morkel with Roelof van der Merwe.


Pakistan: Shahid Afridi (Capt.), Kamran Akmal, Salman Butt, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Misbah-ul-Haq, Abdul Razzaq, Abdur Rehman, Mohammad Aamer, Saeed Ajmal, Khalid Latif.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (Capt.), Jacques Kallis, Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Albie Morkel, JP Duminy, Mark Boucher, Johan Botha, Dale Steyn, Roelof van der Merwe, Charl Langeveldt.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply