• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

IPL 2010 – Rajasthan Royals vs Deccan Chargers: Rajasthan Royals Beat Deccan Chargers By 2 Runs

By on April 5, 2010

Rajasthan Royals 159 (Watson 58, Fazal 36, RP Singh 3-17) beat Deccan Chargers 156 (Rohit 73, Warne 4-21)

Captain Shane Warne took 4 wickets as Rajasthan Royals beat Deccan Chargers by 2 runs in a tense last over finish at VCA Stadium in Nagpur on Monday.

Chargers lost the match on the penultimate ball of the last when Siddharth Trivedi had Rohit Sharma caught by Abhishek Raut at deep cover. Rohit made a valiant 73 off 44 balls with the help of 2 sixes and 8 fours.

Warne dismissed Anirudh Singh (9) and Dwayne Smith (4) in successive overs to reduce Deccan Chargers to 120/5.

Warne first struck in his second over when he had Anirudh caught behind by Naman Ojha by the slider that slid away from outside off-stump and in the next over had Smith caught by Aditya Dole at deep backward square leg.

Warne then dismissed Azhar Bilakhia and Ryan Harris in one over to finish with his best T20 figures of 4-0-21-4.

Siddharth Trivedi had Andrew Symonds caught by Faiz Fazal at extra cover on his first delivery to reduce Deccan Chargers to 86/3.

Symonds, who looked edgy right from the start of his innings, hit 2 fours in his 20-ball 15.

Symonds’ dismissal came after Aditya Dole dismissed VVS Laxman and Adam Gilchrist in two overs on his IPL debut.

Dole first had Laxman (6) caught by Yusuf Pathan at deep square leg and in the next over had Gilchrist caught by Michael Lumb at mid-wicket. Gilchrist hit 3 sixes and 3 fours in his 17-ball 34.

Earlier, RP Singh took 3 wickets as Deccan Chargers restricted Rajasthan Royals to 159 despite Shane Watson’s valiant 58.

Apart from Watson and Faiz Fazal (36) there were no major contributors for Rajasthan.

Watson hit 3 sixes and 3 fours in his knock that came off 36 balls.

Watson hit his sixth IPL half-century off 29 balls soon after Ryan Harris dismissed Yusuf Pathan (5).

Watson reached his fifty in the over after Pathan was dismissed. The plan to pepper Pathan with short-pitched deliveries worked for Deccan as he edged a short ball to VVS Laxman at backward point.

Pragyan Ojha had Fazal caught by Azhar Bilakhia at deep mid-wicket to reduce Rajasthan Royals to 94/3.

Fazal fell after adding 77 with Watson for the third wicket and their partnership revived Rajasthan. Fazal hit 4 fours in his 29-ball knock.

For Rajasthan, Morne Morkel has replaced Shaun Tait.

Deccan have dropped Herschelle Gibbs.

Their semifinal hopes fading, neither Rajasthan nor Deccan can afford to lose.


Rajasthan Royals: Shane Warne (Capt.), Michael Lumb, Naman Ojha, Shane Watson, Yusuf Pathan, Faiz Fazal, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Abhishek Raut, Siddharth Trivedi, Aditya Dole, Morne Morkel.

Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (Capt.), VVS Laxman, Andrew Symonds, Rohit Sharma, Azhar Bilakhia, Dwayne Smith, Anirudh Singh, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Ryan Harris, Harmeet Singh.

Source: Times of India

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply