• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

IPL 2010 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore: Easy Victory For Kolkata

By on March 14, 2010

Kolkata Knight Riders 136 for 3 (Tiwary 50, Hodge 50) beat Royal Challengers Bangalore 135 for 7 (Kallis 65*, Mathews 4-19) by seven wickets…

Kolkata Knight Riders registered a comfortable seven-wicket victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore in their second match of the Indian T20 Series.

Kolkata Knight Riders got off to a flying start through Brad Hodge and Manoj Tiwary, who laid a solid platform, chasing a modest target of 136 against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

When Manoj Tiwary departed, Kolkata Knight Riders were already 100 runs up and were in total command.

Meanwhile, Brad Hodge completed his half-century but fell just after that.

At the end, it was a comfortable win for Kolkata Knight Riders.

Thanks to Jacques Kallis’ half-century, RCB could manage to make 135 for seven in their allotted 20 overs.

Charl Langeveldt drew the first blood for Kolkata Knight Riders by sending back Shreevats Goswami early after the host skipper Sourav Ganguly won the toss and elected to field against Anil Kumble’s Bangalore.

Then Angelo Mathews was quick to claim the second Royal Challengers Bangalore wicket in the form of Manish Pandey.

While Murali Katik added two more wickets to Kolkata Knight Riders kitty by returning both Virat Kohli and Eoin Morgan to leave Royal Challengers Bangalore reeling at 35 for four in 7.2 overs.

Former India captain Rahul Dravid and Jacques Kallis tried to consolidate the innings but Dravid failed to sustain for long and he departed after playing apatient knock of 21.

However, Kallis continued to hold on to his wicket and play his shots even as wickets kept falling at the other end.

The stage at the Eden Gardens, home of Sourav Ganguly, is set. In their first match, they had to play against the champions of the last year and in their second they will be facing the runner-up team.

For Anil Kumble’s Royal Challengers Bangalore, though, it will be the first match of the Indian T20 series in 2010.

Besides the seasoned pros of international cricketers like Sourav, Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid, Jacques Kallis, the last three from the Royal Challengers Bangalore side proving the fact that KKR, at the moment, are running short on experiences and there will be so many small battles which can decide the fate of the match.


Kolkata Knight Riders: Sourav Ganguly (C), Brad Hodge, Cheteshwar Pujara, Manoj Tiwary, Owais Shah, Rohan Gavaskar, Angelo Mathews, Wriddhiman Saha (W), Murali Kartik, Charl Langeveldt, Ishant Sharma

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Jacques Kallis, Manish Pandey, Robin Uthappa, Virat Kohli, Rahul Dravid, Shreevats Goswami (W), Eoin Morgan, Roelof van der Merwe, Praveen Kumar, Anil Kumble (C), Dale Steyn

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply