• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

IPL 2010 – Delhi Daredevils vs Mumbai Indians: Mumbai Trounce Hapless Delhi

By on March 17, 2010

Mumbai Indians 218 for 7 (Tendulkar 62, Tiwary 61) beat Delhi Daredevils 120 for 9 (Bravo 2-11, Jayasuriya 2-17) by 98 runs…

Fifties by Sachin Tendulkar and Saurabh Tiwary set up a 98-run win for Mumbai Indians against Delhi Daredevils at the Ferozshah Kotla on Wednesday.

Delhi Daredevils all out for 120 (Gambhir did not bat after being injured): Mumbai Indians win by 98 runs

First breakthrough for Mumbai. Lasith Malinga deceived his Sri Lankan team-mate Tillakaratne Dilshan with a slower one, uprooting the Delhi opener’s off-stump.

Dwayne Bravo picked up Virender Sehwag and AB de Villiers in the same over to put Delhi Daredevils under immense pressure, chasing 219 against Mumbai Indians.

Sehwag had begun to look dangerous in the course of his 16-ball 26 and holed out to Rayudu at long-off. deVilliers chopped in on to his stumps three balls later to leave a packed Kotla in stunned silence.

Dinesh Karthik stepped down the wicket to Harbhajan Singh, who pushed it down the leg-side and a brilliant Aditya Tare did the rest.

Jayasuriya picked up Mithun Manhas off his first delivery of the match to put Mumbai Indians in a commanding position against Delhi.

Sanath Jayasuriya snapped up his second wicket when he had Farveez Maharoof stumped by Tare. The Delhi Daredevils all-rounder had started to turn on the screws.

Delhi Daredevils lost their eighth wicket when Pradeep Sangwan departed with the score on 116 in the 14th over, failing to beat a dircect throw from Bravo.

Kieron Pollard picked up his first wicket for Mumbai Indians to send back Amit Mishra to the Delhi Daredevils dug-out.

Mumbai Indians are 218 for seven

Skipper Sachin Tendulkar and Saurabh Tiwary smashed rapid fifties to help Mumbai Indians set up a daunting total against Delhi Daredevils at the Ferozshah Kotla.

That’s a sensational catch by substitute fielder Nagar. Sanath Jayasuriya has departed and his Sri Lankan colleague Ferveez Mahroof gets him.

Pradeep Sangwan struck for Delhi Daredevils and Aditya Tare’s stumps are all over the place. However, Mumbai Indians are still ticking along fine.

Tendulkar blasted his way to a quickfire fifty as Mumbai Indians continued to hit Delhi Daredevils hard despite losing two wickets.

Sachin Tendulkar smashed 63 off 32 balls to leave Delhi in a maze before substitute Yogesh Nagar held on to another smart catch to help Delhi Daredevils pick up their third wicket.

That’s the end of Ambatti Rayudu. Tillekaratne Dilshan pouched it safely to give Farveez Maharoof his second wicket.

Tiwary blazed away to 61 before failing to beat a Dinesh Karthik throw at the striker’s end.

Leg-spinner Sarabjit Ladda snapped up Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard in the last over of the innings.

The Toss

Delhi Daredevils have won the toss and elected to bowl in their IPL tie against Mumbai Indians on Wednesday.


Delhi Daredevils: G Gambhir (Captain), V Sehwag, TM Dilshan, AB de Villiers, KD Karthik(WK), M Manhas, MF Maharoof, A Mishra, S Ladda, PJ Sangwan, DP Nannes

Mumbai Indians: ST Jayasuriya, SR Tendulkar (Captain), DJ Bravo, KA Pollard, AP Tare (WK), SS Tiwary, AT Rayudu, R Sathish, Harbhajan Singh, Z Khan, SL Malinga

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply