• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

IPL 2010 – Chennai Super Kings vs Deccan Chargers: DC Beat CSK Comprehensively

By on March 14, 2010

Deccan Chargers 190 for 4 (Symonds 50, Gibbs 45) beat Chennai Super Kings 159 for 9 (Dhoni 42, Morkel 42*, Vaas 3-21) by 31 runs…

Deccan Chargers registered a comfortable 31-run win over Chennai Super Kingsi in their Indian T20 Series match.

Sri Lankan legendary bowler Chaminda Vaas came up with a devastating spell to send back Chennai top three batsmen cheaply.

Murali Vijay (3), Matthew Hayden (17) and Suresh Raina (6) did not have any answer to Vaas’ bowling as they faltered in their run chase.
After Vaas’ three, Pragyan Ojha added two more wickets to Deccan Chargers kitty.

Ojha took the wicket of Badrinath to leave Chennai Super Kings reeling at 32 for four.

Although captain MS Dhoni and Justin Kemp tried to consolidate the innings but the latter failed to sustain and fell to Ojha’s bowling.

Dhoni though did the damage control to an extend but Symonds claimed the prized-wicket for a well-made 42.

Immediately after that, Rohit Sharma saw off R Ashwin to end almost all hopes for Chennai Super Kings.

Thereafter wickets just kept falling and ultimately CSK could make 159 for nine, falling short by 31 runs.

Earlier, Deccan Chargers posted a competitive total of 190 for four in their allotted 20 overs against Chennai Super Kings.

Defending champions DC got off to a flying start after electing to bat against CSK in their second game of the Indian T20 series.

Adam Gilchrist scored 17-ball 38 to give Hyderabad a solid platform
Deccan Chargers lost both the openers — Adam Gilchrist and VVS Laxman in quick succession, after a blazing start.

But thereafter Herschelle Gibbs and Andrew Symonds built on the advantage.

When Deccan Chargers lost their third wicket in the form of Gibbs, they seem to be in total control.

Deccan Chargers, who started off their campaign with a loss against a resurgent Kolkata in the season opener would be looking to get their bearings together quickly.

However, Chennai Super Kings wouldn’t have been the side Adam Gilchrist would have liked to face right after a first match defeat in the IPL.

Skipper MS Dhoni is a shrewd customer and has a good winning percentage in Chennai Super Kings. Add to that, most of his resources will be on duty, including the dangerous Matthew Hayden. With Suresh Raina, Dhoni, Badrinath and Albie Morkel to follow, the first year’s finalists have an enviable middle order to bank on.


Chennai Super Kings: Murali Vijay, Matthew Hayden, Suresh Raina, Justin Kemp, MS Dhoni (C) (W), Subramaniam Badrinath, Albie Morkel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Sudeep Tyagi, Muttiah Muralidaran, Lakshmipathy Balaji

Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (C) (W), VVS Laxman, Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, Rohit Sharma, Anirudh Singh, Tirumalsetti Suman, Chaminda Vaas, Jaskaran Singh, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply