• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

Deccan Chargers vs Kolkata Knight Riders: Kolkata Notch Up Sensational Win

By on March 12, 2010

Kolkata Knight Riders 161 for 4 (Mathews 65*, Shah 58*, Vaas 2-22) beat Deccan Chargers 150 for 7 (Gilchrist 54, Langeveldt 2-26) by 11 runs…

Last year’s bottom-rankers Kolkata Knight Riders stunned defending champions Deccan Chargers in the opening match of the third edition of the Indian T20 series.

Deccan Chargers had started their reply on a strong note and Kolkata could feel the heat big time as Adam Gilchrist and Laxman went around treating Kolkata’s bowlers with disdain.

Murali Kartik snapped up Deccan Chargers opener VVS Laxman as Kolkata Knight Riders celebrated their first breakthrough in the opening match of the Indian T20 series.

Gilchrist cracked a scintillating fifty as the defending champions charged towards a challenging 162 to win the opening clash.

Brad Hodge removed former Aussie teammate Adam Gilchrist while Charl Langeveldt snapped up Proteas countryman Herschelle Gibbs signal a turnaround for Kolkata.

Ishant Sharma got rid of the dangerous Andrew Symonds to put Deccan Chargers in a spot of bother.

Rohit Sharma played one of the strangest shots you could have seen on a cricket field, allowing Angelo Mathews to pick up his first wicket of the match.

Laxmi Ratan Shukla is on the button, getting rid of Anirudh Singh as Kolkata Knight Riders further dented Deccan Chargers prospects.

Langeveldt then picked up his second wicket of the match, rattling Chaminda Vaas’ timber in the penultimate over.

Kolkata Knight Riders are 161 for four

Angelo Mathews and Owaish Shah smashed a fifty each to help Kolkata post a commanding total against Deccan Chargers.

Hyderabad got off to a sensational start. Chaminda Vaas struck twice in the first over to send shivers through the Kolkata Knight Riders camp.

Kolkata lost Cheteshwar Pujara and Brad Hodge in quick succession just when the pair started to rebuild the innings against Deccan Chargers.

RP Singh struck in the fifth over to remove Cheteshwar Pujara who played it straight to Pragyan Ojha at mid-on, as KKR slumped to further trouble.

Jaskaran Singh was quick to join the party for the defending champions, seeing off Kolkata Knight Riders most consistent batsman, Brad Hodge. Deccan Chargers are on top.

However, Mathews and Owaish Shah led a sensational recovery for the side, sharing a valuable partnership for the fifth wicket. Both batsmen were not scared to go down the track and use their feet and play some rivetting cricketing shots.

Mathews, in particular, looked dangerous as the KKR innings drew to a close. Interestingly, neither team discussed much during the time-outs but KKR looked way stronger after the jolts in the first seven overs.

The Toss

Hyderabad have won the toss and elected to field in the opening match of the Indian T20 series against Kolkata Knight Riders.

After a sensational opening ceremony to the third edition of the Indian T20 series, focus will shift to hardcore cricket with defending champions, Deccan Chargers taking on KKR in the opening match.

Sourav Ganguly, back as captain for Kolkata Knight Riders, has a lot on his plate, what with a new set of coaches and a new uniform. Deccan Chargers, on the other hand, will look to replicate their performance in South Africa last year.

Both sides, however, have to do without their leading international players, engaged in various series for their national teams across the globe.


Deccan Chargers: AC Gilchrist (Captain & WK), HH Gibbs, A Symonds, VVS Laxman, RG Sharma, Anirudh Singh, TL Suman, Jaskaran Singh, WPUJC Vaas, RP Singh, PP Ojha

Kolkata Knight Riders: SC Ganguly (Captain), BJ Hodge, CA Pujara, MK Tiwary, OA Shah, AD Mathews, WP Saha (WK), LR Shukla, M Kartik, CK Langeveldt, I Sharma

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply