• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

Champions Trophy – Pakistan vs West Indies: Pakistan Put West Indies To The Sword

By on September 24, 2009

Champions Trophy - Pakistan vs West Indies - Mohammad AamerPakistan 134 for 5 (Umar Akmal 41*, Tonge 4-25) beat West Indies 133 (Miller 51, Aamer 3-24, Gul 3-28) by five wickets…

Pakistan began their Champions Trophy campaign with a five-wicket victory over the West Indies at The Wanderers.

Three wickets apiece for Mohammad Aamer and Umar Gul looked to have set Pakistan up for an easy win after they bowled their opponents out for a paltry 133 in 34.3 overs – Nikita Miller (51) the mainstay for the Windies with his maiden half-century.

But Gavin Tonge (four for 25) posed a constant threat, reducing Pakistan to 76 for five at one stage before Umar Akmal (41 not out) and Shahid Afridi (17 not out) led their side home with almost 20 overs to spare.

After winning the toss and electing to bat, the second-string Caribbean team – missing all their household names due to a contractual dispute with their board which has since been resolved – began poorly, losing Dale Richards (one) after just six balls when he pushed a return catch to Aamer (three for 24).

His fellow opener was next to go, and after lifting Rana Naved-ul-Hasan over his head for a four, he succumbed to the same bowler four balls later, caught by Imran Nazir at backward point for seven.

Aamer then had Travis Dowlin (nought) caught behind in the next over as the West Indians slumped to 14 for three.

Captain Floyd Reifer then joined Devon Smith as the pair tried to steady the ship, but after putting on 22, the latter edged Gul (three for 28) to Umar Akmal at second slip for 18.

David Bernard (six) then saw his off-stump uprooted by Aamer, followed by the wicket of the skipper, who edged Gul to Misbah-ul-Haq at first slip for seven.

Chadwick Walton (nought) was trapped leg before wicket off the very next delivery, but Miller confidently drove the hat-trick ball away through the covers for four.

A 38-run partnership then followed before Darren Sammy (25) was bowled by Saeed Ajmal (two for 16).

The batting powerplay was then taken and Miller made the most of it, taking three fours off Ajmal’s second over to help his side pass the 100 mark in the 27th over.

He lost partner Tino Best (eight), stumped by Kamran Akmal off Ajmal, but went on to raise his 50 from 51 balls.

But with partners fast running out, he went for one shot too many and perished to Afridi to bring the innings to a close with more than 15 overs remaining.

In response, the World Twenty20 champions lost two early wickets – both to the lively Tonge, who bowled Nazir (five) with his first ball and then enticed Kamran Akmal (five) into a big waft that was edged behind to Walton.

But Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Yousuf calmed nerves by taking Pakistan to the supper break at 35 for two.

After the resumption Tonge and his wicketkeeper twice combined to get rid of the pair – both for scores of 23 – while Bernard accounted for Misbah (six) in the same way as Pakistan slumped to 76 for five in the 23rd over.

There was no twist in the tale, though, with Umar Akmal and Afridi guiding their side over the line with an unbeaten 58-run stand.

The teams:

Pakistan: Imran Nazir, Kamran Akmal†, Shoaib Malik, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Yousuf, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi*, Naved-ul-Hasan, Mohammad Aamer, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal

West Indies: DM Richards, ADS Fletcher, DS Smith, TM Dowlin, FL Reifer*, DE Bernard, DJG Sammy, CAK Walton†, NO Miller, TL Best, GC Tonge

Source: ESPNStar

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply