• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

Sri Lanka vs New Zealand 2nd Test: Mathews to miss second test with hamstring injury

By on August 25, 2009

Sri Lanka vs New Zealand - Angelo Mathews

Sri Lanka all-rounder Angelo Mathews will miss the second test against New Zealand starting on Wednesday because of a hamstring injury sustained in the first test in Galle.

“Mathews has a hamstring strain and we don’t want to aggravate it,” Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara told reporters on Tuesday after the team’s final practice session.

“Playing him is a risk we can’t take as we need him fit for the T20’s, the tri-series and the Champions Trophy coming up,” he added.

“Chamara Kapugedera comes in as his replacement and he has been in great form recently.”

Sri Lanka may also be forced to make changes to their bowling line-up with Sangakkara admitting “there are a few niggles among our bowlers”.

Sangakkara hinted that left-arm spinner Rangana Herath will play ahead of Ajantha Mendis, who has a slight back niggle.

“Not everyone is 100 percent fit so we have to make sure that whoever is playing tomorrow can take the load of bowling long spells over five days,” Sangakkara said.

“We will take the fittest players out there.”

New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori wants an improved performance from his team after their 202-run defeat in Galle.

“We proved we can bat long periods of time, but the thing is to turn the 30s and 40s into 100s,” Vettori said.
“If you look at our scorecard in the last test, Tim McIntosh was our highest scorer with 68 while they (Sri Lanka) had three centuries and a 92 – that was the big difference between the two teams.

Vettori hinted at a possible change to their bowling line-up with Darryl Tuffey drafted into a squad of 12 for the game.

“Iain O’Brien is under pressure for his spot,” Vettori said.

Sri Lanka squad: Kumar Sangakkara (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Tharanga Paranavitana, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Prasanna Jayawardene (wk), Angelo Mathews, Mutiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath, Dammika Prasad, Chamara Kapugedera

New Zealand squad: Daniel Vettori (Capt), Tim McIntosh, Martin Guptill, Daniel Flynn, Ross Taylor, Jesse Ryder, Brendon McCullum (wk), Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Iain O’Brien, Chris Martin, Darryl Tuffey

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply