• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

3rd Round Of IPL To Return To India

By on August 11, 2009

IPL T20 2010The Indian Premier League will return to India and feature four new venues when the third edition is held next year.

The third season of the prestigious Twenty20 tournament will be held from March 12 to April 25 and will feature an extra match to decide the third-place finisher, according to Lalit Modi, the chairman of the IPL governing council.

Modi told reporters Tuesday that the first game between defending champions Deccan Chargers and Kolkata Knight Riders will be played in the southern city of Hyderabad.

Nagpur, Vishakhapatnam, Ahmedabad and Dharamsala were added as new venues, although Modi did not say where the final would be played.

This year’s edition was moved to South Africa because the dates of the tournament clashed with national elections and the Indian government said it would not be able to provide security.

Modi said the tournament would be expand further in 2011 by adding two more teams and increasing the number of matches to 94.

Modi also said that more than 70 former players of the rebel Indian Cricket League (ICL) could take part in next year’s IPL games, pending clearance by the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

Modi said the trading window for IPL players will be between Dec. 15 and Jan. 5, 2010 and the salary cap for each team would remain unchanged at $7 million.

One Comment

  1. IPL

    September 9, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    thank god it is back.. .we will be able to njoy it better

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply