• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

Sri Lanka vs Pakistan 1st ODI: Sri Lanka Put It Past Pakistan

By on July 30, 2009

Sri Lanka vs Pakistan - Thilan Thushara

Sri Lanka 232 for 9 (Mathews 43, Murali 32, Aamer 3-45) beat Pakistan 196 (Gul 33, Thushara 3-29, Kulasekara 2-30, Murali 2-46) by 36 runs…

Seamers Thilan Thushara and Nuwan Kulasekera ripped through Pakistan’s top order as Sri Lanka won the first ODI by 36 runs.

Nuwan Kulasekara drew the first blood for Sri Lanka by sending Shoaib Malik packing at single figure.

Thilan Thushara then accounted for Kamran Akmal.

In the next over, wicketkeeper skipper Kumar Sangakkara caught Mohammad Yousuf off Nuwan Kulasekara.

Shahid Afridi then lost his wicket to Thushara by playing a bad shot and getting caught by Sangakkara.

Thushara then struck again in his next over to claim Pak skipper Younis Khan’s wicket. Angelo Mathews caught Khan at the third man.

Muralitharan caught Misbah-ul Haq off his own delivery to claim Pakistan’s sixth wicket.

Earlier, thanks to some brilliant batting from Angelo Mathews and Muthiah Muralitharan, Sri Lanka gave the visitors a 233-run target at Dambulla.

Mohammad Aamer marked his debut by taking Sanath Jayasuriya’s catch off Umar Gul to help his side deal the first blow to the hosts in the first ODI.

After Jayasuriya departed on a paltry 15, Upul Tharanga followed when Abdul Razzaq’a delivery got his outside edge and wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal collected well. Tharanga opened the batting with Jayasuriya.

Skipper Kumar Sangakkara also could not contribute much to his side’s cause as he ended up palying a Saeed Ajmal delivery for an easy catch to Shahid Afridi.

Afridi then claimed the fourth Lankan wicket in Kapugedera and Akmal made no mistake in collecting the edge.

Thilan Samaraweera was the next to depart when he played Razzaq to the mid-on, only to be caught by Younis Khan.

Mahela Jayawardene was then run out in an attempt to steal a quick second one.

Aamer then scalped his first victim in Kulasekara. He then caught and bowled Angelo Mathews, who made a quick 43.

Muralitharan was his third victim.

The teams:

Sri Lanka: WU Tharanga, ST Jayasuriya, KC Sangakkara*†, DPMD Jayawardene, TT Samaraweera, CK Kapugedera, AD Mathews, T Thushara, KMDN Kulasekara, SL Malinga, M Muralitharan.

Pakistan: Kamran Akmal†, Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan*, Mohammad Yousuf, Fawad Alam, Shahid Afridi, Misbah-ul-Haq, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Aamer, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply