• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

Rajat Bhatia Steers Delhi Daredevils To Victory

By on May 13, 2009

Delhi Daredevils

Delhi Daredevils 173 for 7 (Karthik 44*, de Villiers 44, Ojha 2-26) beat Deccan Chargers 161 (Gilchrist 64, Symonds 41, Bhatia 4-15, Sangwan 3-18) by 12 runs…

Rajat Bhatia’s fabulous four-wicket haul guided Delhi Daredevils to a 12-run victory over Deccan Chargers….

Deccan Chargers got off to a flying start, chasing a competitive target of 174 runs.

Pradeep Sangwan took two quick wickets to send back T Suman and Rohit Sharma but Adam Gilchirst continued to play his chracteristic innings to keep the momentum going.

Sangwan then claimed his third wicket in the form of Gilchrist, who departed after playing a blazing knock.

Thereafter, Rajat Bhatia came up with a brilliant spell to guide Daredevils to victory.

A late charge from wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik helped Delhi Daredevils post a commanding 173 for seven against Deccan Chargers in their Indian Premier League match on Wednesday.

Karthik’s 23-ball unbeaten 44 included four boundaries and three sixes, including a couple off Chaminda Vaas in the last over. He got support from Tillakaratne Dilshan (37) and AB de Villiers (44), both of whom survived dropped chances.

Dilshan scored a quickfire 18-ball 37 that included seven fours and a six and added 50 runs off 29 balls with Gautam Gambhir (19 off 35 balls) after David Warner (4) fell early.

Dilshan was lucky to see Rohit Sharma drop him at slip off RP Singh.

The Sri Lankan, at eight then, made Deccan pay heavily.

He clouted SM Shoaib for 24 runs in an over, including two unusual hits over the wicketkeeper’s head. His innings finally came to an end when Ravi Teja caught him at long on off Andrew Symonds.

Symonds was a trifle unlucky after Teja failed to hold on to a difficult chance offered by de Villiers soon after.

But the Australian all-rounder was himself culprit when he dropped Virender Sehwag at zero off Dwayne Smith.

The Delhi Daredevils skipper, who dropped himself down the order, came to the crease after Gambhir holed out to Venugopal Rao.

Sehwag struggled to get into the groove and perished while trying to hoist Vaas out of the ground. This time though Symonds was alert to the situation and Sehwag departed after scoring just 11 from 10 balls.

De Villiers, who was dropped on seven, went on to compile 44 before he too departed, caught in the deep.

The South African hit Smith for two successive fours in the 17th over but fell trying one too many. His 36-ball knock included four boundaries and a six.
Deccan Chargers: AC Gilchrist (capt/wk), TS Suman, RG Sharma, DR Smith, Y Venugopal Rao, A Symonds, DB Ravi Teja, PP Ojha, SM Shoaib, RP Singh, WPUJC Vaas.

Delhi Daredevils: G Gambhir, DA Warner, V Sehwag (capt), TM Dilshan, AB de Villiers, KD Karthik (wk), R Bhatia, A Mishra, P Sangwan, A Nehra, DP Nannes.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply