• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

Kolkata Knight Riders Knock Out Rajasthan Royals

By on May 20, 2009

Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders 102 for 6 (Shukla 48*, Munaf 2-15) beat Rajasthan Royals 101 for 9 (Langeveldt 3-15, Agarkar 2-15) by four wickets. LR shukla helped Kolkata Knight Riders register a victory over Rajasthan Royals by four wickets…

Sourav Ganguly and Brendon McCullum depart early, chasing a modest target of 102 runs against Rajasthan Royals.

Munaf Patel claims his second victim in the form of Yashpal Singh to push Kolkata Knight Riders on to the backfoot.

Kolkata then kept on losing wickets at the regular intervals and were struggling at one stage with six wickets down less than 50 runs on the board.

But Laxmi Ratan Shukla (48 not out) came to his team’s rescue and ultimately helped his team get the better of the defending champions by four wickets.

Earlier, paceman Charl Langeveldt snapped up three prized scalps in his first match as Kolkata Knight Riders restricted defending champions Rajasthan Royals to 101 for nine in a crucial Indian Premier League match on Wednesday.

Put into bat, the Royals batting completely came unstuck in the face of a disciplined bowling display by the Kolkata team on a good track at the Kingsmead.

Langaveldt returned with figures of 4-0-15-3 to rattle the Royals who desperately need to win the match to stay afloat in the high-profile tournament.

Kolkata, who are at the bottom of the points table, now need to score at just over five runs an over to pull off their second consecutive victory and end the tournament on a winning note.

The contest got off to a dramatic start with Rajasthan Royals clobbering Brad Hodge for as many as 22 runs in the very first over with the diminutive opener Naman Ojha belting three sixes to set the tempo for his team.

But the script changed very swiftly for the defending champions as South African paceman Charl Langeveldt, playing his first match in the tournament, struck in his very first ball by scalping opener Rob Quiney (1).

Quiney tried to pull the ball and only managed to top edge it to wicket keeper Shoaib Shaikh who latched on to a simple catch.

After the flourishing opening over, Rajasthan Royals suddenly found themselves in the pit as they lost Ojha (22), Swapnil Asnodkar and Johan Botha (8) in quick succession to be left tottering at 42 for four by the end of the fifth over. While Ojha was done in by a short pitched delivery by Langeveldt, Asnodkar was needlessly run out trying to go for a non-existent run.

Botha was promoted in the batting order to steady the rocking ship but he also could not survive long, being cleaned up by Ajit Agarkar in his very first ball.

With wickets tumbling at regular intervals, the scoring rate dropped down quite a bit as Niraj Patel and Yusuf Pathan were quite content in dropping anchor and repairing the early damage.

Langaveltd came back for his second spell and snapped up his third wicket by getting rid of Patel who completely mistimed his shot and Sourav Ganguly held on to a well-judged catch just before the strategy break.

The Royals suffered a huge blow immediately after the break when dangerman Pathan (9) was run out, effectively shattering the team’s hopes of piling up a big total.

A few balls later, the defending champions suffered another jolt when Tyron Henderson, reputed to be a big hitter, was run out off a direct hit from David Hussey.

Captain Shane Warne joined the action with his team at a precarious 62 for seven and it was important for his team to play out the 20 overs and take the score to the 100-run mark.


Rajasthan Royals: Rob Quiney, Naman Ojha, Swapnil Asnodkar, Ravindra Jadeja, Yusuf Pathan, Johan Botha, Neeraj patel, Shane Warne (capt), Tyron Henderson, Amit Singh and Munaf Patel.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Brendon McCullum (capt & wk), Sourav Ganguly, Brad Hodge, David Hussey, Yashpal Singh, Laxmi Shukla, Ajit Agarkar, Charl Langeveldt, Sourav Sarkar, Ashok Dinda and Shoaib Shaikh.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply