• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

1st Semifinal: Delhi Daredevils vs Deccan Chargers

By on May 22, 2009

delhi daredevils

A fabulous half-century by Tillakaratne Dilshan helped Delhi Daredevils post a competitive 153 for eight in their semifinal match.

Ryan Harris gave Deccan Chargers a dream start as he managed to send back both the Delhi Daredevils openers — Gautam Gambhir and David Warner in the very first over after Delhi were put in to bat in the first semifinal of the Indian Premier League second edition in Centurion on Friday.

However, Delhi Daredevils captain Virender Sehwag and Tillakaratne Dilshan steadied the boat and went on doing the repair work to get over the early loss. The duo played their natural game as they went for their shots and managed to take Delhi to a score of 82 in 10 overs.

Just after the strategy break, Delhi Daredevils lose their captain Sehwag, who got out for a well-made 39 off 31 balls.

Dilshan, meanwhile held his ground and kept on playing his characteristic innings by hitting the ball all around the park. In also brought up his half-century in the process.

The new batsman in AB de Villiers gave Dilshan a good support on the other end before departing for 21-ball 26.

Delhi have made just one change to their side, bringing in Ashish Nehra in place of Avishkar Salvi.

Meanwhile, Deccan Chargers have also made one change as Harmeet Singh comes in for Jaskaran Singh.

After a disastrous campaign in the first edition of the Indian Premier League last year, the Hyderabad boys have stormed their way into the last four of the second version.

Led by Adam Gilchrist, a spirited team, without much offing from the legendary VVS Laxman won seven out of their 14 league games.

Virender Sehwag’s boys have been on a roll, butchering their opponents with a disdain characteristic of their leader.

Gautam Gambhir and Sehwag had a torrid time through the tournament before both struck form in their last league game against the Mumbai Indians.


Delhi Daredevils: G Gambhir, DA Warner, V Sehwag (capt), TM Dilshan, AB de Villiers, KD Karthik (wk), R Bhatia, A Mishra, DP Nannes, P Sangwan, A Nehra.

Deccan Chargers: AC Gilchrist (capt/wk), HH Gibbs, TS Suman, RG Sharma, A Symonds, Y Venugopal Rao, AA Bilakhia, RJ Harris, PP Ojha, Harmeet Singh, RP Singh.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply