• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

Deccan Chargers Register 24 Runs Victory Over Bangalore Royal Challengers

By on April 22, 2009

Deccan Chargers

Adam Gilchrist and Rohit Sharma helped Deccan Chargers register a comfortable 24-run victory against Bangalore Royal Challengers.

Chasing a massive target, Bangalore Royal Challengers lost Jesse Ryder in the very first over for a duck.
Thereafter, Deccan Chargers tightened the noose even more and send back Jacques Kallis and Robin Uthappa as well.

The Hyderabad bowlers never let the advantage slip out of their hands and kept taking wickets at regular intervals.

Adam Gilchrist (71) and Rohit Sharma (52) hammered blistering half-centuries to propel Deccan Chargers to 184 for six — highest score of the tournament so far — against Bangalore Royal Challengers in the Indian Premier League on Wednesday.

Deccan Chargers got off to a flier with captain Gilchrist leading from the front to vindicate his decision to bat first at Newlands’ Sahara Park.

Gilchrist, Rohit power Deccan Chargers

Gilchrist may have retired from international cricket but there was no rust in his batting to suggest so. He started with three successive boundaries off Praveen Kumar and when Dale Steyn came from the other end, Gilchrist smote two fours before hitting the final ball of the over out of the park.

Herschelle Gibbs (13) wanted to match his captain’s aggression but was trapped by Kumar, having top edged the pacer for a six in the previous delivery.

Not that Gibbs’ departure had much of an effect on Gilchrist and Jacques Kallis found himself next in the firing line as the Australian hit him down the ground for a six and followed it up with a four.

Jesse Ryder struck with his first ball by removing the struggling VVS Laxman (5) but Gilchrist looked unfazed as he hit the part-time bowler for a six to bring up his breezy fifty.

And the celebration came three balls later, in the form of a bigger six as Gilchrist launched the bowler into the stands.

Anil Kumble too was dismissed with similar disdain but it was actually Rohit who was harsher on the former India captain, hitting him for three towering sixes in the same over.

Gilchrist’s 45-ball knock, bejewelled with six fours and five sixes, came to an end when Virat Kohli caught him off Kevin Pietersen.

Scott Styris (14) could not make the most of the life he got early in his innings and fell to Pietersen, while Rohit’s scintillating innings ended through a soft dismissal when he top edged Steyn.

Rohit’s 30-ball 52 had five sixes, besides a four, in it.


Bangalore Royal Challengers: JD Ryder, RV Uthappa (wk), JH Kallis, KP Pietersen (capt), R Dravid, V Kohli, R Vinay Kumar, P Kumar, A Kumble, DW Steyn, Karan Sharma.

Deccan Chargers: AC Gilchrist (capt/wk), HH Gibbs, SB Styris, VVS Laxman, RG Sharma, Y Venugopal Rao, Harmeet Singh, PP Ojha, RP Singh, DB Ravi Teja, FH Edwards.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply