• IND vs ENG 4th Test 8th December 2016 Mumbai
  • AUS vs NZ 1st ODI 4th December 2016 Sidney
  • AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI 6th December 2016 Canberra

Bopara Leads Kings XI Punjab To Win

By on April 24, 2009

Ravi Bopara

Punjab rode on a brutal knock by Ravi Bopara to carve out their first win of the IPL, blowing Bangalore away.

Kings XI Punjab win by seven wickets

Bopara in the company of his skipper Yuvraj Singh destroyed Bangalore’s attack and killed any hopes Kevin Pietersen had of forcing a win.

Anil Kumble sent Kumara Sangakkara back to the hut, giving Bangalore a reason to rejoice against Punjab.
Punjab openers Karan Goel and Ravi Bopara got the team off to an electrifying start against Bangalore in Durban.

Bangalore had struck back at Punjab, getting rid of opener Karan Goel just when he started to go berzerk.

Bangalore are 168 for nine

A four wicket haul by Yusuf Abdullah left Banaglore short of a massive score that they would have hoped for after Jacques Kallis blasted a fifty.

Irfan Pathan was lethal too, picking up three wickets, including two off successive deliveries in the final over.
A fine fifty by Kallis put Bangalore in a strong position against Punjab despite losing Rahul Dravid cheaply before the Reds lost their way.

VRV Singh joined the party for Punjab when he had Virat Kohli on his way back to the hut for just two.

Yusuf Abdullah sneaked one through Jess Ryder’s defence, ending a blistering cameo by the left-handed Bangalore opener before snapping up skipper Kevin Pietersen for a duck.

The Toss

Bangalore have won the toss and elected to bat first in their IPL game against Punajab in Durban on Friday.


Punjab: Ravi Bopara, K Goel, Yuvraj Singh, KC Sangakkara, DPMD Jayawardene, IK Pathan, WA Mota, PP Chawla, VRV Singh, RR Bose, YA Abdulla

Bangalore: JD Ryder, RV Uthappa, JH Kallis, KP Pietersen, R Dravid, LRPL Taylor, V Kohli, Vinay Kumar, P Kumar, A Kumble, Pankaj Singh

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply